© 2018 THE HIGHLAND KITCHEN  |  PRIVATE CATERING IN SCOTLAND AND BEYOND
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

CLIENT REVIEWS

The Highland Kitchen has had the great pleasure of working with clients from around the world - here are some of the kind words they had to say

 

Balvenie Whisky, Dufftown, June 2017

I booked Greig for a very important dinner, we had 23 guests from around the world to feed in a barn with no running water or electricity. Greig was patient and problem solving and helped us find a way to make sure this could happen, his customer care before the event was fantastic and he put great detail and care into his menu making sure it was perfectly tailored to our event. On the day Greig came early to make sure everything would be set up just right, he was great to work with and very accommodating. Greig's attention to detail, cooking talents, taste matching, food display and his ability to adapt to any situation was truly outstanding! If you need a chef to do the impossible, Greig is your man!

Clarke Stevens, production manager, Aca live

Aultmore Lodge, Nethy Bridge, March 2017


Greig Wilding catered for my father’s 85th birthday celebrations for four days at Aultmore House in March and we were all delighted with the food that he prepared.
Greig’s meals were excellent with plenty of variety and good sized helpings.  Greig also produced first class food for the children in our party and his service was always right on time.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Greig to anyone wanting an excellent chef who produces top quality food.


Chris Giles and the Giles Family 

Private house, Cirencester, Cotswolds, March 2017


Greig was requested for a guest weekend being hosted by my employer.
His planning and prior preparation was very professional, when he arrived on site did all the shopping required and prepared for the weekend meal requirements.
The food Greig produced was of the highest quality and presented immaculate, whether it be the formal dinner or the lunch.
I look forward to working with Greig in the future.


Mark Sargent, House Manager, Crucis Park 

Private House, Tomatin, Invernessshire January 2017


It was with great pleasure to have Chef Greig Wilding to cook for my wife and I on our trip to Scotland from the 14th- 18th of January, 2017. As it was my wife’s first time in Scotland I was weary that she might not like the food but we all did enjoy Greg’s fresh cooking every day after a long cold day on the hill. When the chef arrives to work, he arrives very early, prepared, organized and with a great attitude. Each meal was meticulously prepared and delicious. I highly recommend Chef Greg as a private chef and wish him much success in his future.


Hamad 

Private House, Northern Tuscany, Italy, December 2016


Greig has cooked for us on several occasions in the UK. This year we celebrated Christmas in our remote Italian farmhouse. The house although modernized only has a large wood fired pizza oven and secondary smaller wood cooking oven with gas hobs.  


When ten of our family descended upon us we flew Greig out ahead of time to cater for the festive period and he did not disappoint. It was lovely shopping with him, as despite him not speaking Italian, if a product was not available he would search and find alternative solutions within the store.  Greig also took time on top of his workload to give me tuition to help improve my own cooking skills. This has provided me with confidence for hosting dinner parties should he not be available. I even found my husband doing some cooking with him! Greig adapted his cooking to suit his surroundings and produced some amazing meals.  Greig produced a wonderful Christmas dinner of goose roasted in a primitive wood fired pizza oven. He later created pizzas never before seen in Italy when we hosted a pizza party for friends and neighbours. Greig's pizzas were a stunning fusion of the traditional and Asian influence. 


Greig always worked professionally, cleanly and even coped with our dogs laying in the kitchen hoping something might fall their way....it didn't! We are so thankful we hired him for the period. I could enjoy the time with family and friends.   I would not hesitate to fly him out on holiday with us again, we all got to relax stress free.  I highly recommend him and his teaching skills!


Thank you so much Greig, what an amazing Christmas!


Christine

 

Glenhurich Lodge, Ardnamurchan October 2016


We booked Greig to cater for my wife's 50th birthday at a weekend house party in Ardnamurchan. From the outset, His communication has been first rate, offering suggestions and options and always responding very quickly. He was flexible with our requirements across the evening from canapés right through a wonderful dinner. If you get the chance, try his Soufflé which was an inspired choice for all our party. The 'flaming desert' was a real crowd pleaser and a dramatic finale. Think the star of the show for our guests was the G&T sorbet which was unanimously declared utterly delicious, we happily finished off the extra sorbet Greig left in the freezer the next night.In short, we had never used a private chef before, but would not hesitate to use Greig again. The evening was a huge success with guests raving about Greig, his service and his delicious food. At the end of the evening he left the kitchen absolutely spotless before disappearing into the night.

 

If you are looking for a professional, friendly chef who can deliver delicious food and charm your guests then I would wholeheartedly recommend Greig.


Andy, Kirsteen and friends, Glasgow

Glencalvie Lodge, Near Ardgay October 2016

Mit Freunden und Mitglieder meiner Familie konnte ich wieder eine sehr schöne Jagdwoche in der
von uns geschätzten Glencalvie Lodge verbringen. Diese Tage waren durch die vorzügliche Kochkunst von Greig Wilding besonders wertvoll.


Greig zelebrierte nicht nur die Hauptgänge mit großem Können, er verstand es auch köstliche Vorspeisen und Desserts zu präsentieren, welche von jedem unserer Gruppe mit Begeisterung quittiert wurde!


Für das Einfühlungsvermögen und die Bereitschaft auch kleine Sonderwünsche zu erfüllen, verdient Greig große Anerkennung. 


Greig herzlichen Dank.

Josef Reiter

Alladale Lodge, Highland Kitchen recommended by George Goldsmith-Edinburgh, September 2016 


Greig, the Highland Chef, was recommended to us for our week's shooting holiday in the highlands.  We found Greig to be very hard working, pleasant to have around whilst also polite and amenable for last minute changes.  He worked tirelessly throughout the week catering for a large family where one had a specific dietary requirement, our other men hungry each night after the shoot and ladies who preferred lighter diets and babies with their own tastes!  He did a fantastic job so that no one was the wiser to the other with each and every meal he presented each day. We are a family who come from various parts of the world so all our taste buds can vary! But everyone was happy with each meal which was fresh, healthy and very well presented.  At the end of the week we wanted a special celebration dinner and oh what a dinner.

 

It is not always easy to make recommendations but the Highland Chef exceeded our expectations and we would certainly recommend him.  I am sure we will be asking him to cook for us again.


The M Family from Hertfordshire

Mungsdale Lodge, Guidard Estate, Highland Kitchen recommended by George Goldsmith-Edinburgh, September 2016


We loved every aspect of the cuisine you so expertly provided and your company, too – of course!


Harry Edmonds and friends

Wedding at Highland Lodge Estate, Duthil, Cairngorms, September 2016


Greig catered for our small wedding in a large lodge in the highlands. From the moment he started cooking we knew we were in for a real treat. Everyone commented on hard he work but was so organised and professional. The special touches for the buffet area – lovely.
 
The food was excellent: Tasty canapés – irn bru sorbet was a real hit. The soup and home-made bread left everyone wanting more. Then the mains – real big roasts of meat and delicious dressed salmon, with a tasty selection of sides. Extra to cover enough for us all for the following days lunch..
Puddings (for those who had some space left) lovely touch with the crème brules being ignited in the dark. And sticky toffee puddings yum.
 
To top it all, we had a cheese board for supper – a total feast of cheeses, crackers, fruit and chutneys.
We were all in food heaven. And after all of those hours cooking and serving, the kitchen was cleaned and left spotless.
 
If anyone out there is looking for a caterer who will leave you with a satisfied smile, then we would thoroughly recommend Greig at Highland Kitchen.


Ann and Bryan Hogg

Kindrochet Lodge, Blair Atholl Estate, August 2016


I have arranged shooting parties of approximately 14 people for the last 10 years and have always engaged a 'cook', with varying degrees of success.  This year I vowed to find someone reliable, creative, hardworking and above all a great cook!


Googling Chefs and Cooks in the Highlands leads to various links.. And I was lucky enough to find one for a friend of Greig Wilding who, although he couldn't help me thought that Greig might.....


So I e-mailed Greig and was seriously impressed with his swift, competent response.  Within 2 days I had a realistic quote and a week's worth of delicious menus for breakfast, lunch and dinner to mull over.  He also explains how he will set aside time for planning, etc so everyone understands where they are.


I felt very confident leaving Greig to organise everything and I was proven totally right.  We've just got back from the most amazing week in Blair Atholl and my only criticism is that I need a new wardrobe!  The food Greig created each day was superb.
We had delicious, inventive breakfasts, using locally sourced produce - not just plain old cooked.  Each day we had lunches packed for the hill and again these were varied and delicious.


The dinners?  Well... One thing I said to Grieg when I engaged him was "I am fed up with being given food which I can quite easily cook for myself..."  And again, he did not disappoint!  It was like eating at a very fine restaurant every night, with starters, main and dessert plus a beautifully presented cheeseboard.


Just watching his diligence to each service is an inspiration... We all enjoyed watching how he created each dish and the attention to detail ensuring it was presented perfectly as you can see in some of the photos we took.


I have already asked Greig to hold time for next year and we are really hoping he doesn't get snapped up by someone looking for a personal Chef.  He truly is amazing, very easy going and a pleasure to work with, I and our friends could not rate him highly enough and will be more than happy to give a verbal reference as well as any written one too.


Russell's', Wests and Walshes

Sky Mountain Lodge, Cairngorm National park, August 2016


Greig came and cooked dinner for our family for a joint birthday celebration. It was quite simply superb. An incredible 6 course dinner with some surprise treats for afternoon tea as well. He was the consummate professional, working in the background at the house all afternoon despite constant interruptions in the kitchen. The result was a Michelin standard tasting menu of local in-season ingredients. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Greig and Wendy who looked after us so well at the table. Hope to have an occasion to call on him again. 


Caroline Henning

Moray Lodge, Grantown-on-Spey, August 2016


We booked Greig to provide a surprise 60th birthday meal based on the testimonials on this site and crossed our fingers hoping this was the right decision.  Greig surpassed all our expectations and provided us with a fabulous 7 course meal, which even featured some theatrical food-based surprises just to add to the wonderful atmosphere already created by the delicious food we were being served.  The food Greig served was not something the general person or a pub would provide, it was more like Michelin star food but served in the comfort of your home! Although he was working in our kitchen, you would not have known except for the delicious aromas filling the air! Greig was very professional and friendly from the initial contact by email until after the event when he kindly emailed to let us know what goodies were left over in our fridge (fortunately more gin and tonic sorbet that we all loved!).  Wendy our hostess was fantastic and all smiles throughout the evening, frequently topping up our glasses! We would have no hesitation booking Greig for another event and was glad to hear he will work in various parts of the country, not just Scotland!


Natalie

Knocktulchan Lodge, Tulchan Estate, July 2016


Greig cooked for us the most special dinner! It all started when my wife organised a surprise weekend in the highlands for my 40th birthday, a weekend of salmon fishing, relax and good food… we stayed in a very comfortable lodge within the Tulchan estate and asked Grieg to cook dinner for us two on the Friday night. The most amazing feature of Greig’s cooking is the sourcing: every ingredient is sustainably sourced across Scotland from small producers whom he knows personally, and this involves a lot of driving around, also considering that everything he cooks is fresh and seasonal… you can imagine that the amount of work needed to source ingredients for 2 or 20 people is the same, and nevertheless Greig did it for us!


His skills are the ones of a real professional chef, preparation is impeccable (Greig showed up at the lodge at around 1pm for dinner at 8pm… a lot of preparation went into each dish), his style is that of preparing several small/medium sized plates which arrive at leisurely but well timed pace, starting from an excellent plate of super-fresh oysters and small haggis “truffles” to accompany the aperitif, to an excellent and original leek and dill soufflé served with the most amazing hot-smoked salmon, and then on, amouse bouche after sorbet, after entrée, after main course (a striploin of venison so tender it would melt in your mouth), which perfectly matched our bottle of venerable claret (a 1985 Ducru Beaucaillou, just for the sake of completeness…).


To finish, the crème brulee was excellent, and “theatrically staged”… but above all, Greig is an fantastic person to enjoy a chat with, while watching him prepare the food, while discussing the dishes with him, while talking about his suppliers, his (rather adventurous) life.


We thoroughly enjoyed what Greig prepared for us, and would wholeheartedly recommend him for a real culinary experience in the heart of the Scottish highlands!


Antonio Gatti, London

Kellas House. June 2016


Big thank you to Greig. I wanted to host a dinner for my son and his friends to celebrate his forthcoming wedding. We were a party of 16 staying at Kellas House, a beautiful Highland Estate. I engaged Highland Kitchen and provided Greig with an outline brief to cook us a special Scottish Dinner. From the start Greig's communication was very good and his enthusiasm shone through in his menu suggestions.  His delivery surpassed our highest expectations. The dinner Greig cooked for us was sensational and not without theatre.  The whole group were absolutely delighted and are still talking about it. I would also give a special mention to Wendy who Greig hired to provide front of house. Brilliant evening. I would strongly recommend Highland Kitchen.


David Phillips, London

Middle Stanley House, Near Cheltenham, North Cotswolds, June 2016


For your testimonials page Greig, we can't thank you enough for another epic party weekend!
We were lucky enough to persuade Greig to come and cater for another 21st house party weekend, this time in the Cotswolds, and once again he rose to the challenge of producing course after course of restaurant quality food in a kitchen where I would struggle to produce even the basics. He travels equipped to cope with these adversities and is always calm and humorous while working with amazing stamina the whole day and evenings. He is flexible and able to adapt to the timekeeping and dietary vagaries of 28 students.


The food was sourced both in Scotland and locally, was fresh, beautifully presented and varied as well as reflecting some particular favourites requested by our son. We couldn't resist the dramatic crème brûlée a second time!


Thank you Greig for making another party go with a bang, some glitter and a sparkler!

 

The Fraser Family

Coire Domhain, Glenfeshie Estate June 2016


There are not enough words to describe our dinner that Chef Greig Wilding prepared for my family of 8 this week. Greig was referred to us by George Goldsmith, a sporting estate leasing company in the UK. We are a family of eight ranging in ages from 12 to 75 with varying food tastes. I asked Greig to prepare something that had some authentic Scottish flare but for the most part, we were a blank canvas and he could surprise us. And surprise us he did.


He created not 1, nor 2, but several memorable small courses. Each building upon one another from start to finish. With an opening of sorbet to cleanse the pallet, to mouth-watering cold-smoked salmon, followed by red stag venison that melted in your mouth, our meal was extraordinary.
The meal ended with creme brûlée finale that will left even the most seasoned brûlée fan speechless. (My wife) I do not want to go into the details of each course as I feel everyone's meal is unique and special, but what I would like everyone to know Greig makes everyone feel welcome and a part of his culinary art. He created memories that my family with cherish forever with the utmost professionalism and grace.


Here are a few images of a fantastic night
Cheers,


The Inglis Family

Scottish Private Household Shooting Estate, Invernessshire, 19 guests fresh food cooking every day. Full breakfast, 3 course lunch, afternoon tea, 4 course dinner May 2016


Unflappable, even when surrounded by slobbering dogs, helpful (?) children & excitable adults, Greig produces delicious, innovative, well considered food using the freshest, and wherever possible, locally sourced ingredients with a twinkle in his eye and magic up both sleeves. Absolutely brilliant.

Jen


We have just spent 4 days with Greig cooking for 19 of us, he cooked the most amazing delicious imaginative meals every time with absolutely no stress. I cannot recommend him highly enough. Thank you Greg we loved every second of it.
Nick


This guy is awesome!! French toast to die for!! Everything done with care and attention yet all dishes exceptional and unusual!! Calm, smiley and patient!!! Loved loved loved!!!!
Bex


Multiple Birthday Celebrations

Blue Sky highland lodge, Cawdor April 2016


We recently hired Highland Kitchens ran by the very talented Greig Wilding. We had a very specific brief made up of several family favourites as part of a 30th birthday surprise.  Not only was the food cooked to perfection but Greig went the extra mile and made his own exquisite handmade ice cream. Greig truly went above and beyond with all the dishes. Most importantly Grieg’s warm and friendly personality came through which made us all feel at ease and comfortable whilst maintaining complete professionalism. We would highly recommend Highland Kitchens and Greig Wilding as our evening was definitely an experience that we will never forget.


Graham Tonner and Lauren Falconer

Scottish Private Household Shooting Estate, Invernessshire, 19 guests fresh food cooking every day. Full breakfast, 3 course lunch, afternoon tea, 4 course dinner May 2016


Unflappable, even when surrounded by slobbering dogs, helpful (?) children & excitable adults, Greig produces delicious, innovative, well considered food using the freshest, and wherever possible, locally sourced ingredients with a twinkle in his eye and magic up both sleeves. Absolutely brilliant.

Jen


We have just spent 4 days with Greig cooking for 19 of us, he cooked the most amazing delicious imaginative meals every time with absolutely no stress. I cannot recommend him highly enough. Thank you Greg we loved every second of it.
Nick


This guy is awesome!! French toast to die for!! Everything done with care and attention yet all dishes exceptional and unusual!! Calm, smiley and patient!!! Loved loved loved!!!!
Bex


Multiple Birthday Celebrations

Glen Affric Lodge, Glen Affric March 2016


Contacted by the Estate Manageress to cook for an undisclosed lovely family and their family, for three days over Good Friday.  Lady of the group requested Healthy, wholemeal, fresh cooking with treats for desserts. Including seafood lunch buffet, shooting piste’s, 4 course dinners and canapes.

Big Husky Lodge, Cairngorm National Park March 2016


I could not recommend Greig highly enough. He catered for my husband’s 40th birthday and all 34 of us enjoyed a gorgeous meal followed by a very special flaming pudding! He worked tirelessly through the whole day and left the kitchen spotless. Bravo! 


Carole price 

Old Post House, Hen Party Dinner, Kinguisse, Invernesshire March 2016


I booked Greig as a surprise for my sister’s hen do in Kingussie in March this year. From the moment he sent me the sample menu through, I knew we were in for a treat, and he certainly did not disappoint! Every single one of us were blown away by the whole experience.

 

The presentation alone was phenomenal – the canapes were accompanied with cheerful Highland cow napkins, whilst the gin and tonic sorbets were served in tiny little buckers – and such minute attention to detail was reflected in the food itself. I can safely say I have never tasted such incredible flavours, or enjoyed a meal as much as I enjoyed the one that Greig cooked for us. In fact, at one point, I actually forced myself to stop eating so that the experience wouldn’t come to an end. The finale – Greig’s trademark theatrical crème brulee – did not disappoint, and was quite something to behold…and eat!


The hen was delighted by everything as well – not least the sparkling cheese board that brought the whole delightful event to a close. Greig had managed to produce a menu that incorporated everything she adored, and she still talks about how amazing it was!
It was so lovely to meet Greig – the quality of his food is matched in personality as well. All of us warmed to him straight away, and he could not have been any more pleasant. I cannot wait to sample Greig’s culinary delights again at some point – as soon as I find a suitable occasion I will definitely be back in touch with him straight away.


I cannot recommend the Highland Kitchen strongly enough – this guy is a seriously talented chef, and a lovely person to be around as well.


Five stars, and thank you so very much again Greig. 


Diana and Nicki

Aldourie Castle Cottage February 2016


I recently had the pleasure of Greig catering a private birthday dinner in the Highlands for my best friend’s 35th birthday. 


Despite very minimal direction from me (except budget!), Greig came up with an inventive yet crowd-pleasing menu which simply, almost effortlessly brought together the freshest, locally-sourced ingredients for us which captured the spirit of our stay in Scotland, ranging from langoustines and scallops caught that morning, to roast venison, to a flaming crème brûlée. It was an absolute triumph and absolutely hit the mark of what we had hoped for this meal. As an aside, I usually hate scallops and avoid shellfish – this was a complete delight.  In person on the day, Greig was a real pleasure to have around the house – diligently working in the kitchen but with a really sunny friendliness that made us all feel really at home. 


I have already asked Greig to cater for my 30th birthday party for 30 guests over a weekend as a result of this meal, and I would not hesitate eating wherever he chose to cook in future or recommending him to my many foodie friends! Thank you Greig for making this weekend truly extraordinary. 
Charlotte


Most amazing chef, exceeded all our expectations for a wonderful weekend away in Scotland. Greig is incredibly efficient, wonderfully creative, and brilliantly professional and really made our dinner memorable with the best creme brûlée ever to be tasted! Definitely recommend!


Louise

Private Household, Cirencester, Cotswolds, (19days Straight), varying numbers, December 2015-Janruary 2016


Greig Wilding has worked for me on two occasions, catering for my large family over the winter and summer holidays. On both occasions he provided excellent food both for a large group of adults and four young children (who love the homemade ice-cream!). He is very flexible to changing numbers of people and meal times while consistently producing a high standard of food. Working in an unflustered way he gets along with everyone and is a great member of the team during the holiday periods. I would highly recommend him.


Frederick Schroder

Scottish Private Household Shooting Estate, Invernessshire, 19 guests fresh food cooking every day. Full breakfast, 3 course lunch, afternoon tea, 4 course dinner May 2016


Unflappable, even when surrounded by slobbering dogs, helpful (?) children & excitable adults, Greig produces delicious, innovative, well considered food using the freshest, and wherever possible, locally sourced ingredients with a twinkle in his eye and magic up both sleeves. Absolutely brilliant.

Jen


We have just spent 4 days with Greig cooking for 19 of us, he cooked the most amazing delicious imaginative meals every time with absolutely no stress. I cannot recommend him highly enough. Thank you Greg we loved every second of it.
Nick


This guy is awesome!! French toast to die for!! Everything done with care and attention yet all dishes exceptional and unusual!! Calm, smiley and patient!!! Loved loved loved!!!!
Bex


Multiple Birthday Celebrations

Kindrochet Lodge, Blair Atholl Estate October 2015


Greig Wilding catered a dinner for 18 of us while we were staying at Kindrochet Lodge on the Blair Atholl Estate in October.  From the outset he was extremely willing and helpful. I gave him a budget, which I had to work within, and he came up with a proposal for the most delicious menu. We started with hot haggis canapés - a real hit! We then moved on to a twice-baked cheese soufflés followed by a venison casserole served with the most lovely array of roasted vegetables and then concluded with a blueberry crème brulee. Each course was delicious and beautifully presented. Grieg clearly takes great pride in his work. He arrived at 11 am and spent the whole day carefully preparing each element of our supper. He had sourced the most wonderful haunch of venison and arrived with literally box loads of delicious fresh vegetables and eggs. When he left at nearly midnight the kitchen was spotless and we were thrilled with the dinner he had catered for us.


Sarah Macpherson, Kent

 

Private Shooting Estate, Highlands, Scotland, Long weekend (3 days), October 2015


"Greig helped us with a family happening and we had a lovely time with Greig's help. He made lots of lovely food in different kind of style. His passion was 100% and always with a grate smile. We all wish Greig Good luck and send him a big thank's"


Private Family, Sweden

Aultmore Estate, Nethy Bridge, Highlands, 3 full days, August 2015


‘Chef…. that was amazing, totally unexpected, we shall come again now ‘


Cooked on behalf of another cater for a group of high society French game hunters; including retired Michelin chefs. My role was 3 dinners of 4 course dinners for 12 adults. 

Scottish Private Household Shooting Estate, Invernessshire, 3 weeks(21 days straight),29 people, August 2015


Greig fitted into our household with quiet professionalism, a great understanding of what was needed, and a good sense of adventure. He cooked ingredients we had bought with us but predominantly cooked amazing food using wholly local ingredients from a network of fine suppliers he has amassed over the years.


He was only too happy to embrace several experiments both ours and his including lunch outside in monsoon weather and a fabulous dinner inside with fireworks.
He has the rare ability to be practical and flamboyant when required. He researched Paleo food when needed and went beyond the call to make sure everyone was happy and that the food was always available when needed, including packed lunches for our journey home. I couldn't recommend him more highly.


Private Family holiday

Private House, Cirencester, Cotswolds, varying numbers, 3 weeks, July 2015


Greig came to cook for our full and busy household for a number of weeks over the summer with a constant flow of guests and a flock of small children. Greig was always on top of things, in his calm manner, endlessly producing wonderful 3-course meals for the grown-ups and delicious children’s food for the little ones. Greig worked tirelessly, professionally and always with a smile. The children were also extremely fond of him and were often in the kitchen ‘helping’ him… even this did not throw him off his stride! His food is unquestionably excellent. I very much hope he will come back to help us again.


Private Family Hoilday

Highland Lodge Estate, Invernessshire, June 2015


I was looking for something special for my husband’s 50th, and boy did I find it with Highland Kitchen.


I contacted Greig and explained that I would like a buffet for our guests on Saturday and a Sunday lunch for approx. 20 people.


I was asked for our favourite foods, and the buffet (rather an unkind word for what it actually was), when it was presented, was absolutely phenomenal!!


Including canapés it was a fantastic 4 courses of, langoustines ,sweet n sour pimms scallops, whole dresses salmon, pulled venison, Honey spare Rib Pork cutlet, dates wrapped in bacon,
Char grilled vegetables, sticky toffee pudding choc brownies, a whole cheese board and crackers and chutney’s.. And then some!!!


This was all cooked from scratch by Greig himself and a mammoth 15 hour shift in the kitchen, he eventually went home at 2am (he stared at 10am), and the kitchen was spotless!!
Sunday Lunch also prepared from scratch was just as amazing , French onion soup , Beef and all the trimmings and finished with “theatrical blueberry crème Brulee and sparkly shortbread “.


My husband was absolutely delighted as were all the guests, He is an amazing Chef and his work ethics were something he should be proud of.
I would have no hesitations in recommending Highland kitchen for any event big or small
Don’t think twice, you won’t regret it.


Maddie Bingham, Highlander International, Glasgow

Inshriach house, nr Aviemore, Wedding  March 2015


“We knew we were in safe hands from the moment we started talking to Greig about our wedding plans. As self-confessed “foodies” the menu was always going to be an important element! But fear not, every meal from start to finish throughout our stay was fantastic. Greig’s attention to detail shines through not only via the presentation of his food but also in the little touches he makes, which made the both of us feel very special. He went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect, including sourcing ingredients which were hard to get hold of at the time (langoustines!). Greig’s wife Alex also assisted on the big day and was extremely helpful in making everything flow smoothly (serving drinks after our ceremony, the evening meal and even decorating the table beforehand!).


Greig works tirelessly in the kitchen and is a pleasure to deal with at all times, we simply cannot recommend him highly enough!”


Mhairi & Blaine Powell

MASONS ARMS, MEYSEY HAMPTON, GLOUCESTERSHIRE, 1 month straight days, 2015


Greig worked with us as a relief chef for a few weeks in our first year of taking the Masons. The desire for quality in all the classics was evident, as well as creating some changing specials. The odd one or two were so popular that they have a firm home on our regular menu now and people walk in the door excited for his cheese soufflé, even a year later!  Refreshing twists on simple ideas really helped us get off the ground and we’d always welcome him back if we are ever in need.  He really understood and listened to our ethos of what we were trying to create, launching a new business and building custom.


Paul Fallows, Landlord

Ben Alder House, Dalwhinnie, Scotland, 1 week, New Year 2014


(What a fantastic New Year cooking at Ben alder Lodge, Dalwhinnie with friend Alex Kidd, (now head chef www.aldouriecastle.co.uk)


Plenty of themed evenings and Theatrical foods.
What a great start to my new business over the last year, thank you to the clients, support from friends to get started and especially my wife. May I hope more good things to come in 2015)


Cooking for 25 adults : Charlie Hanbury and Yoanna Otto

 

Ben Alder House, Dalwhinnie, Scotland, 2 weeks, October 2014


(At the end of my very successful virgin trip to the magnificent Ben Alder Lodge, 
The family loved my cooking and attitude so much they have invited me to return and cook for them next year.

 

The kitchen as always deep cleaned and left spotless as with any job, so roll on 2015.
I'm very happy, pleased and honoured to have the privilege to cook for the family again)
‘Perfect Greig, Thank you, just the food we like’ 


Mrs and Major Hanbury

Assisting private chef Allan Earl; Mr and Mrs Schwarzenbach. Upon him leaving cooked on my own for Mr Schwarzenbach, VIP Guests including Major Hanbury and Mrs Hanbury. Continued to work for Major Hanbury and Mrs Hanbury for some days after. 2nd week cooked for daughter of Hanbury’s.

Private household September 2014


I hired Highland Kitchen to cater my 40th birthday party.  The theme was ‘All American’ and the guest list just topped 80.  Greig rose to the challenge and was quick to submit a fantastically varied menu, catering for vegetarians and children as well. He was amenable to any changes in the menu I requested (which were few) and was imaginative in figuring out ways to overcome the hurdles of mass cooking in a domestic kitchen.  Throughout the preparation and party itself, Greig was professional, unflustered and calm.


What I was not expecting when I booked Greig, was the amazing time my youngest son would have working with him.  Greig’s patient, and clear instructional manner make him a natural teacher.  My son Sam is 9 and has shown some interest in cooking and baking in the past with me, but he is very shy of people he does not know well and has always taken a long time to interact with people without another family member present.  Within 15 minutes of watching Greig he had forgotten I was even home and was cooking up a storm.  Greig also involved my 9 year old niece in the preparations, recognising her desire to get stuck in to mixing the coleslaw!  Despite the extremely tight time schedule, he did not hurry the children and was patient and informative when answering their many and varied questions!


Greig is extremely organised during the prep and cooking.  He is hardworking and trustworthy and was not content to stop and join us for a drink until the kitchen and equipment had been cleaned and cleared – his work ethic is faultless. I hired three teenagers to help him in the evening.  Having never met these girls before, he was quick to impress upon them what was expected and what they had to prioritise.  He was clear in his instructions and they all worked well together.  The food was well presented and had an amazing level of detail.  For example, the cheesecakes had red, white and blue sprinkles added at the last moment to lend to the American theme. This was not requested, but I hope demonstrates the absolute attention to detail and pride Greig takes in his work.  There was a great range of flavours in the 3 course buffet and  I have received many compliments on the menu.


Greig was well presented and polite throughout - I cannot recommend him highly enough.  I wish him every success and I hope he goes on to inspire more chefs in the making.  I have no doubt we will be booking him for our next big ‘Do’."


Jo, Cotswolds

My first funeral catered for as Highland Kitchen…


Fantastic! Grieg catered for my father’s funeral on Thursday 11th sept 2014, at Rothiemurcus. Great food served & very professional. I would have no hesitation in recommending Grieg & Highland Kitchen. Great job Grieg  


Kenny Shaw, Highlands, Scotland

Balavil Estate, Cairngorm National Park, 7 days Straight, August, 2014


Dear Greig
My pleasure. 
I spent 5 days at Balavil and Greig Wilding the chef done a superior job the food he made was so delicious the appetisers, main dishes and the deserts were all tasted great my son and my nephews were there with me and all of them shares the same experience. Greig has a friendly personality and we all enjoyed the 5 days experience at Balavil.


Faisal Al-Thani,

Burgie House, Forres, Scotland, May 2014


We engaged Greig on the recommendation of another local cook for a weekend at a large house in Morayshire to celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday. He came up with menus that catered for all the members of our party of 27, including vegetarians and the nut and gluten intolerant, and which were made with really good local produce. Greig's food is consistently delicious with some amazing imaginative flourishes- the “Theatrical Crème Brulee" was a show-stopper which made everyone smile! We had everything from cooked breakfasts to epic teas, a four course dinner and a beach barbecue.


Faced with a house-full of partying students Greig was fantastic, discreet but friendly and fun, and I have never met anyone who works so hard. The kitchen at the lodge left much to be desired for a professional chef but Greig came prepared with a trailer-full of equipment and managed to produce wonderful food even when the Aga went out.


We would heartily recommend The Highland Kitchen and Greig Wilding
James and Victoria Fraser


Greig was the chef for my 21st birthday weekend in the north of Scotland. He single handily created delicious and creative dishes for 25 rumbustious students’ morning, noon and night! Not only were his meals of a standard belonging to that of a five star hotel but he also had additional flourishes such as the theatrical creme brûlée, glittery cheese and a special menu to fit in with our 'something beginning with T' fancy dress evening. Endlessly cheerful, he also produced continuous special gifts for me as the birthday girl which was very touching and thoughtful. Sadly he didn't go for the opportunity of moving into our student flat next year as a full time unpaid personal chef but I would recommend him to all other friends with upcoming 21st's or any sort of party! 
Tabby Fraser - Birthday Girl


As a guest at the 21st Birthday party come weekend extravaganza of Tabby Fraser I was treated to the catering of the Highland Kitchen. Not only was every dish excellent in flavour and presentation but the service provided alongside it went above and beyond anything I could have expected. Feeding so many hungry students alone is a herculean task however Grieg’s meals and came out consistently like clockwork to the most outstanding standard. I particularly enjoyed the attention to detail in presentation as a way of creating entertainment such as the use of a mirror as a platter for sparkly cakes or the theatrical flaming crème Brulee, cakes and cheeses. I must applaud his endurance over the 3 day weekend, producing 8 meals of multiple courses as well as tea time treats, as the high standard he set from the very first meal did not drop in the slightest. I will be recommending the Highland kitchen wherever I get the opportunity and cannot sing the business' praises enough.
Laura Haylock - Guest

Camusericht Lodge, Loch Rannoch, Scotland, 1 week, April 2014


A passionate and thoughtful chef. Greig's fayre is classical, and high class always with a little twist or ceremony, even at breakfast. And High Tea was a talking point every day! He is a fervent supporter of local and regional produce. Generous in sharing the food stories and skills, not to mention flexible and accommodating of children's palates. Test his signature dishes and you won’t be disappointed. Otherwise, stand outs for us in our week at Camusericht were the shepherd' pie (lamb slow roast off the bone), a shell fish gala evening, the soups and home baked breads, and the Game.


Adam McConkey, Henderson Global Investors Ltd, London

Alvie lodge, February 2014


“I highly recommend Greig Wilding’s work. He was our chef when we hosted an International group of Top Business Executives for their 2014 conference. The food he prepared was delicious and everyone commented upon its beautiful taste and presentation. Apart from the terrific, creative menu, Greig was unobtrusive and a delight to deal with. He managed to cater for all kinds of dietary needs. His preparation was meticulous and he was warmly thanked by all our conference guests for making the event, an occasion” With Greig as your chef, you get great food, no dramas!


Ian McMonagle, Senior Partner, Ian McMonagle Partnership

Millhouse, Lanark.January 2014


"For my wife's 30th birthday party a group of 12 of us went away to a large country house. The main catering we required was an elaborate dinner on the Saturday night spread over a number of courses.  Greig was great at putting together a menu to suit all tastes, giving us ideas and adapting dishes to suit all guests including gluten free and vegetarian.   Once at the house Greig worked tirelessly in the kitchen creating an array of delicious courses. All our guests were delighted with the food and I don't think I've ever eaten so well!  It was a pleasure having Highland Kitchen provide the catering and wouldn't hesitate to use Grieg’s services for future events. Thank-you!


Roger; Glasgow fireman

I have known Greig Wilding for several years now and have worked as part of his kitchen team in Aviemore for some of that.  I can confirm that Greig is a very good head chef. His strongest personal attributes include being very calm under pressure, friendly, patient, easy going and maintains professionalism at all times. His skills include having an organised approach, time management, managing and work with staff including liaising with front of house and bar team. Greig produces high quality menus and dishes using the best of ingredients available whilst working to a budget, effectively using costings and portion control to maximise profit and reduce waste.  Whilst Greig has a passionate and serious approach to his work he also creates a relaxed and friendly environment within the kitchen. I have truly valued working with Greig and would relish the opportunity to work with him again.


Thomas Park - Catering Manager @ the Wild Flour

Private house, Broadhembury, Devon, Wedding, Long weekend 2013


Thank you very much for catering at mine and Ken's wedding. We very much appreciate the effort, professionalism and quality of the food you provided! We were very impressed at the quality and quantity of the food you provided for our 80+ guests, especially considering all the different dietary requirements and limited budget we were able to provide.  

 

The sourcing of local produce in particular the ice cream and pastries was a wonderful touch and really made our wedding meal something unique and characterful; we were very impressed that you were able to source such great ingredients in a part of the country that you're not familiar with, in such a short space of time. You forged excellent relationships with everyone you met, including the catering companies and local farmers.  

 

We also appreciate that cooking in the B&B's kitchen wasn't ideal and appreciate the professionalism you exhibited when faced with a very limited setup.  Lastly, congratulations on the launch of your Catering business, Ken and I are both confident that you'll succeed in this.


Ken and Rebecca, Shanghai

 
LEAVE A REVIEW
The Highland Kitchen strives to provide you with the very best catering experience and your feedback is both important and welcome.